The Council

The Council Members At Session

The St. Louis City Council is composed of five members: (L-R) Roger Collison, Mayor Pro Tem George Kubin, Mayor James C. Kelly, Bill Leonard, and Tom Reed. The Mayor's term is for two years and the rest of the council seats are four-year terms. Council meetings are scheduled for the first Tuesday and third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers at 300 North Mill Street. All regular and special meetings of the council are open to the public.


For the complete code of ordinances go to or contact:

Mari Anne Ryder
City Clerk
300 North Mill Street
St. Louis, MI 48880
(989) 681-2137 ext. 1050


Tuesday, December 7 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

City Council Board Meeting

Tuesday, December 21 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

City Council Board Meeting

Mayor James Kelly

Mayor James Kelly has served the City Council since 1998. He assumed the office of Mayor on September 20, 2011. Jim is retired from Michigan Air Gas in Mt. Pleasant. His wife Jackie is retired from St. Louis Public Schools.

Term Expiration - 1/1/2022

Mayor Pro Tem George Kubin

George Kubin was first appointed to the City Council to fill a vacancy in 1987, then elected in 1989. He served as Mayor from 1992 until 2009. In 2011 he was appointed once again to fill a vacancy. In 2020 he was appointed as Mayor Pro Tem. George currently serves on the Downtown Development Authority and is a member of the Pine River Superfund Task Force. George and Winnie Kubin reside in St. Louis and are owners of Kubin's Furniture & Mattresses.

Term Expiration - 1/1/2022

Roger Collison

Council Member Roger Collison was elected in 2019. He is a lifelong resident and will serve the community with distinction.

Term Expiration - 1/1/2024

Bill Leonard

Council Member Bill Leonard was elected in 2019. Bill serves on several City Boards and Commissions, including Planning Commission and Housing Commission. He has lived in St. Louis most of his life and will serve the community well.

Term Expiration: 1/1/2024

Tom Reed

Council Member Tom Reed began his City Council service on January 1, 2014. He also serves on the Planning Commission, Board of Review and Water Authority Board. Tom and his wife Mary have been St. Louis residents for several years and Tom is a retired teacher from the Alma Public School district.

Term Expiration - 01/01/2022


Resolution 2020-18


Minutes for the regular meeting of the City Council of the City of St. Louis, County of Gratiot, State of Michigan, held in the City Hall Council Chambers on the 1st day of December, 2020, at 6:00 p.m.

Present:   Mayor James C. Kelly, Roger L. Collison, George T. Kubin, William R. Leonard Thomas L. Reed

Absent:    None

The following preamble and resolution were offered by Member Reed, and supported by Member Collison:

WHEREAS, The City Council of the City of Saint Louis, Gratiot County, Michigan, pursuant to Act 261 Michigan Public Acts of 1968, and in accordance with Section 5.1 of the Saint Louis City Charter, hereby gives notice to the public of the regular meeting schedule for the calendar year 2020.

WHEREAS, The City Council, in accordance with Section 5.1 of the Saint Louis City Charter, is required to hold meetings, on the first Monday following the first Sunday of January following the regular City election, for the purpose of installation of newly elected Council Members. Regular meetings shall be held at least twice each month.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the dates for holding said regular meetings shall be as follows:

January 5April 6July 6October 5
January 19April 20July 20October 19
February 2May 4August 3November 2
February 16May 18August 17November 16
March 2June 1September 7December 7
March 16June 15September 21December 21

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the City Council hereby establishes as its place and time for holding aforesaid regular meetings as the City Council Chambers, City Office Building, 300 North Mill Street, Saint Louis, Michigan at 6:00 o'clock P.M.

Ayes:   Reed, Collison, Kubin, Leonard, Kelly

Nays:   None

Resolution declared adopted this 1st day of December, 2020.