Planning Commission




Article III, Division 5, Sec. 2-119. Powers and duties.


The powers and duties of the Planning Commission shall be as provided by Act 285 of the Public Acts of 1931, to the same extent and with the same legal result and effect as if the powers and duties of City Planning Commission, as declared and provided by said act, had been at length set forth and declared herein.


The Commission

Recently, the Planning Commission approved and recommended that the City Council adopt a new Land Use Plan.  To view the new Land Use Plan, click on the link below.

Meetings of the Planning Commission are held the 2nd Wednesday of every month at 5:30 p.m. in Council Chambers.  Planning Commission meetings are open to the public.


The Planning Commission consists of the Mayor, one administrative official of the City and one City Councilmember, as well as six additional citizens and tax payers of the City, who are appointed by the City Council.  The six citizen members serve a three year term.  The members of the Commission are: Mayor Jim Kelly, Tom Reed, Dan Doepker, Donna Kelly, Sean Kelly, Kevin Palmer, Sue Whitford.  There is a vacancy on the Commission. 
To view the Gratiot County Master Plan CLICK HERE
To view the City of St. Louis 5-year Land Use Plan CLICK HERE.

Contact Information

If you would like to contact the Planning Commission, you may call or write to:
Kurt Giles
300 North Mill Street
St. Louis, MI 48880
(989) 681-4377
 © 2005 - 2021   City of St. Louis, Michigan Design by New Moon Visions ~ Site by AccuNet Web Service.