The Spirit of St. Louis Award, presented annually to an individual who has served the St. Louis community in exceptional ways, is chosen by a committee of former recipients.  The award winner is chosen from a list of nominations from the community at large.

The winner is announced and receives the award at the Annual Dinner of the Gratiot Area Chamber of Commerce in May. For 2024, the date of this award dinner is Thursday, May 2.

Because some recipients have continued to serve the St. Louis community in the years since they received the award, they may be re-nominated after an interval of ten years.

To nominate an individual for this award, please complete and submit the following form by Friday, March 15 at 4:00 p.m.

For reference and to avoid nominating a community member currently ineligible to receive the award due to recent receipt of the award, the winners for the past ten years are below. For a full list of past winners, please visit the Chamber of Commerce page on this website.

2022 – Mari Anne Ryder

2021 – Linda Bader

2020 – No award

2019 – Melissa Allen

2018 – Ron Salladay


spirit of st louis award

2017 – Judy Root

2016 – Phil Maxwell

2015 – Jim Kelly

2014 – Bill Coty

2013 - Chuck Oatten

Spirit of St. Louis Nomination

All nominees must meet the following criteria:

1) Be a resident of the St. Louis Area

2) Be a highly regarded individual, with exemplary personal behavior.

3) Be successful in their work or profession.

4) Have a history of community participation for the betterment of the St. Louis area.

5) Demonstrate leadership or inspirational qualities.

In addition, consideration should be given to longevity. Under extra special circumstances, a group may be chosen.

Nominations for the Spirit of St. Louis Award were due by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, March 15, 2024. Thank you for your interest!